Conference Press Releases


Press ReleaseAward Finalists and Winners

There were many outstanding candidates for our national level COABE Awards. Congratulations to this year's award, incentive grant, and scholarship finalists and winners, representing the best in our field! Click on the nominees name to view their press release.

Press Releases for Adult Learner of the Year
Finalists & Winner

Press Releases for Teacher of the Year
Finalists & Winner

Press Releases For Administrator of the Year
Finalists & Winner

  • Ezi Adesi, Literacy Network, Madison, Wisconsin
  • Ben Aldama, Northwest Arkansas Community College, Bentonville, Arkansas
  • Lynn Bartlett, San Juan Unified Adult Education, Citrus Heights, California
  • Vicki Bauer, Adult Education Director, Nebraska Department of Education–Award Winner
  • Susan Erno, Region 10 Adult Education Program, Charlottesville, Virginia
  • Jerry Harper, Edgecombe Community College, Rocky Mount, North Carolina
  • Marcel Kielkucki, Kirkwood Community College, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
  • Erin Landry, Delgado Community College, New Orleans, Louisiana
  • Joey Lehrman, Delgado Community College, New Orleans, Louisiana
  • Kathryn Lent, Syracuse City School District Adult and Continuing Education, Syracuse, New York
  • Blair LiddicoatRio Salado College College Bridge Pathways Program, Tempe, Arizona
  • Hilda Pecheco-Peeples, Eastern New Mexico University, Roswell, New Mexico
  • Diane Portnoy, The Immigrant Learning Center, Inc., Malden, Massachusetts
  • Sherry Stacy, Mason County Adult Education, Maysville, Kentucky
  • Nicole Stevens, Howard College Adult Education and Literacy, San Angelo, Texas
  • Kathryn Thompson, Tarrant Literacy Coalition, Fort Worth, Texas
  • Enid Valdez, The School Board of Broward County: Career, Technical, Adult, and Community Education Department, Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Press Releases For INCENTIVE GRANT
Finalists & Winner

Press Releases for Scholarship Nominees
Finalists & Winner

  • Emma Rhodes, Emma Rhodes Institution for Special Education, Little Rock, Arkansas
  • Pamela Ritter, Director, YWCA Adult Literacy & Learning–Award Winner
  • Joshua Stark, BMCC’s Chinatown East-River Literacy Zone Program,Brooklyn, New York

Special thanks to the Awards, Incentive Grants, and Scholarship Committee for their work reviewing the many applications! The awards committee was led by Deb Bomaster, a board member who hales from the state of Maine, Diann Bailey, MAEA from Maine, and Mary Helen Martinez, TALAE from Texas.


Sponsored by Dollar General Literacy Foundation